News » SPA Production Business of the Year

The Screen Producers Australia Awards has named Goalpost Pictures as Media Super Production Business of the Year during a special presentation hosted by popular television personality Julia Zemiro.

The Screen Producers Australia Awards has named Goalpost Pictures as Media Super Production Business of the Year during a special presentation hosted by popular television personality Julia Zemiro.

Film and television production company Goalpost Pictures was established in 2008 by its four principals Rosemary Blight, Ben Grant, Kylie du Fresne and Cass O’Connor. It is best known for its 2012 smash-hit feature film The Sapphires, which has taken over $14.5 million at the Australian box office, sold more than 400,000 units on DVD and produced a double platinum soundtrack album. Other recent productions include the Joel Edgerton written and starred Felony, which premiered at this year’s Toronto Film Festival and the ABC telemovie An Accidental Soldier directed by Rachel Ward.

Screen Producers Australia executive director Matthew Deaner said: “The Screen Producers Australia Awards grew out of a desire to honour and recognise Australian screen businesses who create and support high quality and outstanding screen content. Goalpost Pictures has confirmed their reputation as a successful production company, which produces entertaining stories for film and television audiences both locally and globally.

A special highlight of this year’s Awards was the reveal of a rebrand and new name for the organisation from Screen Producers Association of Australia (SPAA) to Screen Producers Australia. The core mission of Screen Producers Australia is to continue to unite the screen industry nationally to campaign for a healthy commercial environment. A new logo and name was revealed to Screen Forever delegates at the awards and a new website was launched prior to the conference on Friday 15 November.

The other main award of the night, the Maura Fay Award for Services to the Industry, named in memory of the late and dearly loved casting agent Maura Fay in recognition of an individual’s continuous and outstanding service to the industry, was awarded to producer Penny Chapman. A legend of the industry herself and a mentor to many, Chapman is a partner and producer at Matchbox Pictures. Her recent credits include executive producer of The Slap and producer of The Straits, both series for the ABC. She is currently executive producing the television series The Devil’s Playground and producing The Gallipoli Story.

The full list of winners of the 2013 Screen Producers Australia Awards is:

Media Super Production Business of the Year, Goalpost Pictures

Maura Fay Award for Services to the Industry, Penny Chapman

Feature Film Production of the Year Porchlight Films, Lore

Light Entertainment Television Production of the Year Shine Australia, The Voice

Drama Television Production of the Year See-Saw Films, Top of the Lake

Interactive Production of the Year mememe productions, dirtgirlworld

Children’s Television Production of the Year Sticky Pictures, The Dukes of Bröxstônia

Documentary Television Production of the Year, Electric Pictures, Desert War

Services and Facilities Business of the Year, Lalor Law

Breakthrough Business of the Year, Jungleboys

The Screen Producers Australia Award, established in 2001, recognize the creation of outstanding screen content by Australian Businesses and provide a great opportunity to celebrate the industry.